Personal Injury Claim Statue of Limitations

Injury Lawyer Charlottesville, VA

All Virginia residents should know that if they are in an interrelated insurance claim case, or a lawsuit with court, there are state laws that can affect your ability to regain compensation for these incidents. If you find yourself having trouble understanding these laws, reach out to an injury lawyer in Charlottesville VA such as the ones available at Martin Wren PC so that the injury lawyers there can help you understand the laws that are affecting your case.

All states have statute of limitations, this is the limit for filing the lawsuits or claims against another person, and in Virginia the statute of limitations for personal injury cases two years in this clock begins the date of the accident. Therefore you need to be certain that you file your personal injury case as soon as it happens, and if you missed the deadline and try to file your lawsuit later the court is going through your case no matter what your injury lawyer in Charlottesville VA does.

Furthermore if you’re filing an injury claim against the government, there are procedural rules that you must follow and you will need an injury lawyer in Charlottesville VA to know these rules. Before you are permitted to file a lawsuit against the government, you have to put a notice out alerting the government to your claim. You and your injury lawyer in Charlottesville VA will do this by submitting a notice to the government, whether it is state or local, and writing. This written notice states the details of the accident, the date and the place where it occurred.

If you are making a claim against the city or town of Virginia then you must send your notice within six months of the date of the accidents then, however if it is the state then you have to send a notice. You must give the government a chance to respond, except your claim, try to settle your claim or abuse your claim. After that happens you and your injury lawyer and Charlottesville VA can file and go to court.

There are the most standard personal injury cases in Virginia, which means that there is the amount of economic or noneconomic damages that you can receive. However there are key exceptions to this rule, primarily regarding medical malpractice cases which are capped at $2 million in Virginia alone. This Is not the same in other states if you are filing in another state and you need to know the laws for that state, not Virginia. Furthermore punitive damages are capped at $350,000, and punitive damages are not something that come into play in most injury cases. To file punitive damages there must be serious recklessness, malicious conduct and and must exceed regular negligence.

Shared file is a very harsh rule in Virginia, because if you are found to be any way at fault for the accident or incident at hand, due to contributory negligence, sharing blame will cause you to be unable to receive company nation or damages for your incident or accident.

Close Menu